Fusion Linux is here



 
Community Fedora Remix is dead, long live Fusion Linux!
 
Almost from the start it was obvious that Community Fedora Remix was not suitable name for this project. Old name was ment to be only temporary but it stayed longer than anticipated.
New name for this project is Fusion Linux.
 
Fusion is defined as union, coalition of more entities into one body, that definition explains really nicely what this Fedora Remix is about because it is union between Fedora, RPM Fusion repository and few extra bits. Because RPM Fusion repository is enabled by default this name fits great. Great online quote I found: “combining of images from the two eyes to form a single visual percept” also is great definition this Fedora Remix, two images merged into single visual percept.
 
Look forward for new Fusion Linux release that is going to be released soon.
 
Also I would like to thank you all for your support, without your support this project wouldn’t have survived after second release.
 

This entry was posted in Fedora, News. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fusion Linux is here

  1. vallum6 says:

    It is a good idea! 64 bit version?

  2. Travelinrob says:

    Sweet!

  3. Daniel Devine says:

    Congrats!

    Perhaps this will grow to be Fedora’s “Linux Mint”.
    I will try it when I get a chance – hopefully I can recommend it!

  4. rickabillie says:

    stupid question,
    I cut out of work and ran upstairs to start a quick d/l or torrent, this remix sounds like a fantastic idea, however where is a link?
    also, I like the name but it is not easy to search for, ‘fusion’ and ‘fedora’ are rather common (I can’t tell you how tired I am of seeing that canine in a hotdog bun).

  5. shane says:

    I have started distro hopping recently due to frustrations with ubuntu when I stumbled on this.
    I know fedora is usually very good on my hardware but I tend to stay away due to all the hassle installing the extras.
    When I discovered this remix also includes the media stuff AND mintmenu and dockbarX, two things I go hunting for after any install, it sounded too good to be true…
    Unfortunately it is.
    I have no idea why but when I try to do compiz stuff such as rotate or use any of the switchers, my desktop freezes up completely and I cannot do anything but turn off the power.
    I have a pretty powerful computer and it runs compiz/kwin/aero/metisse and any other desktop effects very smoothly and without problems but not on this one.

    Shame, I thought I had finally found the perfect OS 😦

    • valent says:

      You are having driver and hardware issues. If you invest some time there is a pretty good chance you fix your issues. Best way to do this is to go to Fedora forums and there explain in detail what kind of hardware you are using.

      • shane says:

        Strangely enough I tried pure fedora just after posting here and had no such problems.
        Dunno, maybe a bad burn or something.

  6. Release date says:

    Could we have a date , when will Fusion be released?

  7. Ikem says:

    I never was really happy with the Fedora artwork. I stumbled upon this screenshot.*

    *http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4981/screenshotxvy.png

    Would be awesome if Fusion Linux would look like this. 🙂

    This guy posted the screenshot.*

    *http://unamanic.witt-family.net/2010/06/mintmenu-4-9-9-on-opensuse-and-fedora/comment-page-1/#comment-163

  8. Animal-X® says:

    Good work guys but x86_64 version please! 😀
    I love Fedora and RedHat products.

    • Daisy says:

      Nice rveeiw, and good to see that Mandriva still can compete as a distribution. It is not too unpopular after all. Your experiences also backs up my impression that most distros tend to integrate GNOME much better than KDE and generally try to get a more consistent experience with GNOME. openSUSE is the only real exception from this, so I can’t wait for your rveeiw I tried it today, and the KDE edition is one of the best, if not the best Linux desktops I have ever seen.

  9. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.

Leave a Reply

