Fusion Linux 14.1 RC ready for download


We have worked hard to produce next release of Fusion Linux. We hope you will enjoy Fusion Linux 14.1. This is a release candidate but out test users have already invested lots of time into testing so for most part this release is rock stable and fully usable.

Features for this release:
Latest Fedora 14 updates (saves time and hundreds of megabytes)
LibreOffice 3.3.2 replaces OpenOffice
Firefox 4.0 bug fixed
Chrome 11 stable as default browser
Lots of other small bug fixes and enhancements

You can test latest Fusion 14.1 by visiting our download page.

Our forums are open for any bug reports that you may find and for any suggestion that would make Fusion Linux better.

 

This entry was posted in Fusion Linux, linux, Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fusion Linux 14.1 RC ready for download

  1. Alex says:

    Fusion 14.1 rc
    Wednesday 5/11/11, I installed 14.1 rc on a six year old AMD-64 desktop. I experienced the red icon popping up alerting me that Gnome had crashed. We all know Gnome did not crash. I sent a bug report. Next Firefox 4 would not work well while playing a news video on Msnbc. It appeared to be a video driver problem. I started Chromium and it was very, very slow but, it would play the same news video on Msnbc. Chromium was to slow to use. I installed Google Earth but, it would also crash. Same nvidia driver problem. I did not bother to install the correct nvidia driver as I did not want to deal the x-congfig. I replaced Fusion with Mint 11 and everything worked as expected. Today I replaced Mint 11 with Fusion 14.1 rc in my main desktop. After the install, I opened Firefox 4 went to Msnbc and still had the same video problems as the older desktop. Chromium was still to slow to use. It would attempt to load, but after a few minutes I would get an error message saying Chromium was not responding and would I like to kill it. I removed Chromium and installed Google Chrome Stable and It works very well. I installed Firefox 3 and that worked with no video problems. I installed Google Earth and that was perfect. The last item is that using the newer desktop I did not get the Gnome has crashed icon or pop up box.
    I solved my problems by:
    1. Using a newer desktop.
    2. Installing Firefox 3.6.17-1 and not using Firefox 4-4.0-2
    3. Installing Google Chrome 32-bit rpm and not using Chromium.
    4. Installing Google Earth 32-bit rpm.
    The default video driver works fine if I keep the resolution at 1024×0768. Later, I may install the correct nvidia driver for my desktop. My rock concert DVDs, along with Flash, played out of the box.
    Fusion 14.1 is staying in my main desktop. I will use it everyday and help support Fusion in any way I can. It’s amazing how far Fusion has developed since I first used it in October of last year. Thank you Valent for all your good work. I will keep you up to date on my testing.
    Alex 🙂

    *EDIT: I was able to install the correct nvidia video driver. 😀 😀

    Main Desktop-AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core 5500+ 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 350 HDD, DVD/CDRW

  2. alex says:

    Fusion 14.1 rc follow up of origional post at:
    http://groups.google.com/group/fusionlinux/browse_thread/thread/2292a

    Live dvd
    Wednesday 5/11/11, I installed 14.1 rc on a six year old AMD-64
    desktop. I experienced the red icon popping up alerting me that Gnome
    had crashed. We all know Gnome did not crash. I sent a bug report.
    Everything worked as expected including Firefox 4 and Chromium. News
    videos at msnbc worked smoothly.

    Install follow up using my older desktop. AMD 64bit 2GB RAM 200 GB HDD

    After the installation I installed the current nvidia video driver and
    did the x-congfig. The Gnome has crashed icon and pop up box never
    appeared. Firefox 4 would not work well while playing a news video on
    Msnbc. I installed Firefox 3 which worked as usual. I started Chromium
    and everything worked. Next I installed Google Earth 32 bit rpm which
    also worked very well. Apperantly installing the correct vedeo driver
    fixed the prblems I had with my first install. My rock concert DVDs,
    along with Flash, played out of the box. Just to check the Firefox4
    problem I installed Fuduntu and Fedora 14 and both had the same
    problem as Fusion 14 rc.
    Alex

  3. Pingback: Meego 1.2? Gnome 3 Could Go Linux Only? Virtualbox Works With Gnome Shell! 0 a.d. Updated! | This Week In Linux

  4. Andi Micro says:

    Good review here maybe good for the next version development
    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/fusion-linux-14.html

Leave a Reply

