Fusion Linux status update


Fusion Linux 15 is out, but no official blog post has been made yet.

Why has it taken so long to release it?

First I lost a loooot of time trying to implement Blue Pill project into Fusion Linux. That would integrate Gnome 2 instead of Gnome 3. That didn’t work because Blue Pill project still had some Gnome 3 dependencies that they didn’t resolve.

In July I also joined one big international wifi project and that also consumes lots of my time. During August I was on a holiday and when I returned I was ready to ship Fusion 15 but then disaster struck – main distribution servers of Croatian Linux Users Group died 😦

I hope to pick up the pace and keep on schedule with new Fedora releases.

I’ll keep working on this project for next few releases, but I don’t want to keep doing it alone. If more people join Fusion Linux project then it will grow.

This entry was posted in Fedora. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fusion Linux status update

  1. Darcksephiroth says:

    Here my desktop with Fusion Linux 14 – Nice !!!!!

  2. Hot Chili says:

    Is out, but where is it ?

  3. Hot Chili says:

    Or, when it can be downloaded ? I can’t wait to test it.

  4. Piff says:

    If you click on “nestabilni.com (http)” on the download page you get to Fusion 15, even if the headline says “14.1”.

  5. Ariel says:

    I hoped that the graphical interface of the version 14.1 (with mintmenu) will be kept. So, I’m disapointed of the use of Gnome 3 interface, used by Fedora (wich I don’t like it at all – not even in the fallback mode). Fusion is now just Fedora with some extra software. And not the Fedora remix done right. Well, that’s my opinion.

    • modal1 says:

      @Ariel: Um…..did you even read the post?
      Specifically, “…I lost a loooot of time trying to implement Blue Pill project into Fusion Linux. That would integrate Gnome 2 instead of Gnome 3. That didn’t work because Blue Pill project still had some Gnome 3 dependencies that they didn’t resolve.”
      This isn’t some corporation pumping out a Fedora remix and selling it to you, it’s likely one or a few people working very hard on this project and giving it out free of charge. Perhaps you should consider offering your expertise to help implement the changes that you would like to see instead of just making complaints about an issue that has already been explained. That’s my opinion. 🙂

      • Ariel says:

        What I wrote previously has nothing to do with disrespect for your hard work. I hope you understand this. What I appreciated at this distribution was the well selected preinstalled software and, especially, the graphical interface, with mintmenu and single taskbar (and even the Windows 7 style of the taskbar). But, if this cannot be preserved, that’s it ! I don’t make complaints and I apologise if I was a little too harsh. Glad we can exchange opinions.

      • Emile says:

        The Linux Mint team found a solution to keep a Gnome 2-like interface, but using the Gnome 3 shell. So, it is possible.

  6. Marc Co says:

    what is the life cycle for fusion linux? Is it following Fedora? Since if I recall Fedora is following a 12 month release cycle. I have fusion linux 14 on my ibm thinkpad laptop and I enjoy it very much. I have it running in multi-boot beside Windows XP 32bit and Linux Mint Isadora 32bit (LTS). I use both my Linux distros more than my XP..but I have to keep XP since I do on-site tech support for clients..so I can’t ditch Windows completely.

  7. Pingback: Linux Fusion - Indonesia |Fusion Linux 15 Telah Dirilis

Leave a Reply

